Support for the Drowning

 

It’s one thing to advertise love.

It’s another to advertise hate.

Since the moment I could remember I was taught to fear Hijabs.

Since the moment I could remember I was taught to fear black men.

Since the moment I could remember I was taught to fear curiosity.

So much fear, backed by so much hate, hidden behind so much love.

 

And as a white person, I’m not shouting for sympathy when I say I don’t know how to help!

I’m drowning in ignorance as I stare at a computer that I am privileged to have.

Wondering what I could say to show my understanding.

Wondering what I could say to show how I’m battling too.

But I’m only beginning to realize that its time to listen.

Time to listen to those who’s voices are being drown out my gunshots.

 

Whoever they may identify as individually, I’m listening.

I am not standing in front of you, I am not hiding behind you,

I’m standing beside you.


Leave a comment