On Falling for a Friend

They say falling in love with your best friend is the way to go.

Big mistake.

Spoiler:  It sucks.

She was the first girl I ever admitted to having feelings for.

Being with her taught me how to feel.

Being with her taught me how to have intimacy like the boys and girls.

Being with her chained me to the closet and cracked the door open.

 

We were fire in the night.  Burning through each other like paper.

But one day the sun came up, and she threw water on me.

Damp and frigid I tried burning my way to her, but I only made her cold.

The fire was out and the day around us continued on while we laid.  Motionless and damp.

 

I thought she loved me the way I loved her.

To this day, I miss our friendship before things became complicated.

To this day, I can’t talk to her the same way.

To this day, I do not truly know what it’s like to be her friend.

Leave a Reply

