The First Night

Imbibed in the Devil’s lettuce we snuck to the bathroom.

Lowkey in love, the lights went out.

Dark as a tomb, it was a blackout.

Hiding emotions like a snack in a bedroom.

I stood with my back against the wall.

She stood in front of me,

Nothing but Mary Jane and darkness separated us:

It was eternal.

 

The first kiss was a miss.

But the second was redefining.

Our lips fit together like pieces of a puzzle: finally solved.

Completely mesmerized, she was all I wanted.

My brain said “AGAIN,” but my body stood behind the darkness: now light.

 

Two minutes:

My world spun around.

My sanity invaded.

My heart, captivated.

 

Two months:

Regretting.

Rethinking.

Re-imagining.

 

Two hours:

Erasing.

Ending.

Forgetting.

 

I left her, but she kept a piece of me.

And left me an incomplete puzzle.


Leave a comment